Released August 25, 2023 by New Amsterdam Records


  1. Rounds [composed by Jessie Montgomery]

  2. Code [composed by Paola Prestini]

  3. Time Past, Time Future [composed by Alvin Singleton]

  4. Castillo Interior [composed by Pēteris Vasks]

  5. Untitled Composition for Piano and Eight Voices [composed by Tyshawn Sorey]

  6. Still Point [composed by Judd Greenstein]

Listen, purchase, or find out more

STILLPOINT is a testament to the collective creativity and musical exploration that defines the genre-fluid landscape. It was born from a transformative encounter between Pratt and composer Judd Greenstein In 2016 when Pratt and Greenstein were invited by Executive Producer Mark Rabideau to serve as adjudicators for a chamber ensemble contest that sought to re-imagine the long established, genre-specific norms of classical music. This encounter ignited Pratt’s curiosity, leading him to reimagine his artistic journey. To bring this vision to fruition Pratt engaged composers Alvin Singleton, Jessie Montgomery, Judd Greenstein, Paola Prestini, Pēteris Vasks, and Tyshawn Sorey to compose works for Awadagin in combination with the eight-part amplified vocal ensemble, Roomful of Teeth and the conductorless string orchestra, A Far Cry.


Posted on

October 17, 2023